This object is in archive! 

Problem with rule using sunset and sunrise

Jean-Louis PERSAT shared this idea 7 years ago
Under Consideration

Could someone tell me what's wrong with this ?

When I take a look at the API, the weather sunrise valie is like 11:00 so something is wrong in my rule

a0520788e1c48262d4bc940a52e88833

Replies (34)

photo

I'm a bit new to Zipato and rules creator so maybe I'm wrong but isn't better to use the scheduler for sunrise and sunset? Where is your "when" block?

photo

I also had some problems and I was told by the helpdesk not to use sunrise or sunset in metering funktions. Better use a scheduler with a decicated variable as Thomas suggested. There are some other advantages of the scheduler with a variable. You can use it for all rules and e.g. you can set the scheduler to sunrise +30 min and one to sunset -30 because in a house it can be quite dark at sunset.

photo

This is not a rule triggered by sunset or sunrise, so no way to do it like you do. It is triggered by a motion detector and I have to check if we are during day or night.

photo

And using sunset or sunrise as trigger is a bad point as box can reboot so it wont work as expected

photo

Well you need to post the full rule as this is only part of the rule. It would be best for you to describe what you want to achieve. Then we can help.

photo

I don't think that will help a lot, my main problem is that there is no documentation about the format returned by the Weather sunrise/sunset sensor

photo

What I get requesting the API is :

"astronomy": {

"response": {

"version": "0.1",

"features": {

"astronomy": 1

},

"error": null

},

"moonPercent": 83,

"moonAge": 19,

"sunset": "21:34",

"sunrise": "05:51",

"moonPhaseName": "Waning Gibbous",

"moon_phase": {

"percentIlluminated": 83,

"ageOfMoon": 19,

"current_time": {

"hour": 14,

"minute": 31

},

"phaseofMoon": "Waning Gibbous"

},...

photo