This object is in archive! 

Zipabox & KNX >> Is zipabox worth the investment?

Alberto Macias shared this question 8 years ago
Need Answer

Hello all,

I'm new to zipato and zipabox, I have seen a lot of videos and products using z-wave technology. The main reason for which I'm looking to buy a zipabox is because I already have some automation with KNX at home, and zipabox is currently the only processor (at least that I could find) that can bridge KNX and Z-wave devices, so I'm wondering if anyone here has the same case as me, if you guys have experience integrating KNX and z-wave devices and how the experience has been.

Also i have read many topics from which I have some doubts that i hope you guys can clarify;

1. Is the Zipabox useful without internet access to control devices? I see many complaints of box not working when zipato servers are down, or when the internet conection is unstable, which take me to this question.

2. I see also complaints about premium services, do you guys know which are the premium services and how much they cost? how useful is a zipabox without premium services?

3. What has been your overall experience integrating Fibaro devices to Zipato?

4. For which services the zipato credits are required? How expensive they are?

I will appreciate your honest feedback since I'm close to order my zipabox.

Replies (11)

photo

Is someone from Zipato planning to answer my questions? it's being here over one month...

photo

Hi,

1)

Yes it is.If its offline, rules are running without internet. (if the rules dont have andy http requests)

2)

Have a look in my blog...its german...but i you can see it there

3)

Fibaro Devices are supported

4)

Look at 2) ;-)

regards Helle

photo

Thank you DerHelle, had to use google translate but helpful. Looks like Zipato has a lot to work on still, but the system is improving. Will be checking your blog... Take care.

photo