Building a security system - what would be the shopping list?

Marcus Khoo shared this question 9 years ago
Answered

Hi,

I am new to Home Automation and I am considering using Zipato in a multiple phase project

initially as a security system,

then expanding by adding fire/carbon monoxide/flood sensors

then adding cameras

then later adding home automation functions.

Traditional security starter systems are normally equipped with

a) an entry/exit alarm keypad ~(maybe with keyfob option

b) PIR movement sensors (some that ignore pets) and

c) window/door magnetic sensors.

Traditional security systems also have a 30 second "arm" and "disarm" audible warning beep (my existing one "Infinity Prime" even has a recorded voice indicating "full arming" or "alarm disarmed"). This is very useful as a prompt to exit the home and an audible beep to tell you the system is armed.

I have always liked the idea that sensors should be installed once only and then used both for security and also home automation and I am particularly keen on the 24hr monitoring station facilities offered by Zipato

Question:

Remembering that having a keypad is very convenient as a arm/disarm mechanism... what components would be recommended to build a security system. Particularly:

a) keypad(s) = very useful as a permanent fixture and specially important if you have no smartphone handy

b) PIR Sensors - there are too many sensors on the market to choose from and they all seem to do the same thing. How can I select one over the other? Can I get sensors that also monitor temperature, humidity and light that will not go off if the cat wanders into the room? Which one do you recommend?

c) Magnetic sensors - Ideally these should have the temperature sensor option to give the potential of automatic window closure in the future.

Thanks

/Marcus

Replies (5)

photo

A) I use the Zipato keypad but only as backup. I automaticaly turn on/off the alarm with the GEO location of my phone.