This object is in archive! 

Creating a rule using Sunset/Sunrise for outdoor lights

Arild D. Andersen shared this question 7 years ago
Need Answer

Hi all

Im trying to create a rule based on sunrise and sunset for my outdoor lights. I´ve been using Tellstick for this mission, but i want to get this function over to my Zipato controller. In the Tellstick UI, this is a simple task to get up and running.

c86ebee6d675ac1755faa073fcc5b836

This function will adjust the clock according to the sunrise and sunset times all year automatically. I don´t need to adjust anything.

I want the same function on my rule in zipato. The sunrise and sunset times should update it self and trigger the lights. Im a total newbie to this rule creation at zipato, but I'm trying to understand it. In the picture, you can see what i have tried to do. Can anyone give me some pointers if I'm totally off or am i going in the right direction?

Im happy to answer any question or give more details about the rule. It would be great to have this figured out once and for all :-)

40c632021b870a11be5acdef74249bbc

Replies (14)

photo

I´ve been told they still work on sunset and sunrise as metering functions (and adviced me not to use it as a metering function)

So its easier to just use a planer to start something on sunset or sunrise (upper examples) or just use a variable, based on sunset or sunrise. With the pure weather function you also have no astro-offset. I use a variable (example below) which becomes 1 between 30 min past sunrise and 30 min before sunset (much better inside a home because at sunrise / sunset it is still dark in the house. That variable can be used in all of the other rules.

photo

Thanks for you answer.

I thought they fixed the sunrise/sunset problems in the latest firmware?

4c441631ba29037832c0849a89aa2a06

photo
photo